Thursday, November 3, 2011

Gambito Open #539 November Super Gambito

Gambito #539 November Super Gambito  

4 rounds of G/40 with 5 second delay, Rounds are at 10:30 AM, 12:15, 2:45 & 4:30 

Entry Fee: $25 One bye allowed, but not in the last round. Unrated players eligible for book prize only, but get free entry. USCF membership ($42) required but we can sign you up on the spot. SCCF membership ($18) required if you win a prize of over $18, SDCC membership ($60) required if you win more than $100 during the trailing 12 months.  

33 players today, good turnout. Here are the players in pre-event rating order:

5 Masters: Cyrus Lakdawala, Kyron Griffith, Bruce Baker, Varun Krishnan and Peter Graves

4 Experts: Paul Agron, Leonard Sussman, Aaron Wooten and Jamieson Pryor

6 Class A: Ben Barquin, Chris Wonnell, Elkaei Rivera, Jerry Qu, Aaron Householder and Chuck Ensey

7 Class B: Scott Householder, Rolando Ignacio, Jay Choi, Ajay Krishnan, Sam Barboo, Anthony Harbone and Zechariah Zhu  

2 Class C: Andrew Negus and Daniel Zhu

4 Class D: Fred Cleveland, Thomas Diem, Patrick Edwards, Cassidy Liu

5 Class E: Mark Negus, Matthew Lizanich, Alex Householder, Stephen Zhu and Roger Pedersen.  

Ben Barquin won the event with 3 wins over Kyron Griffith, Paul Agron and Leonard Sussman, plus a strategic round 3 bye. That raised a few eyebrows as it is rare for players to take a third round bye, but it is legal. However you could several players flapping their arms and squawking like a certain well known bird. Cyrus drew with Varun and with Bruce. Peter Graves drew with Bruce and lost to Cyrus.       

Open Section (15 players)

First Place: Ben Barquin (3 1/2), $125

Second Place/U2400/2nd U2400: Kyron Griffith (3), Cyrus Lakdawala (3) and Bruce Baker (3), $58 each

BU2200: Aaron Wooten (2 1/2), $75  2nd U2200: Leonard Sussman (2), $25 

BU2000/2nd U2000: Elkaei Rivera (2) and Aaron Householder (2), $50 each

Best Game Open Section goes to Bruce Baker, $15, for win over Varun Krishnan

Reserve Section (U1800), 18 players

First Place/2nd Place: Jay Choi (3 1/2) and Rolando Ignacio (3 1/2), $50 each

BU1600: Andrew Negus (3), $75    2nd U1600: Daniel Zhu (2 1/2), $25 

BU1400: Thomas Diem (2), $30

2nd U1400: Fred Cleveland (1 1/2), Stephen Zhu (1 1/2), Cassidy Liu (1 1/2), Alex Householder (1 1/2), Mark Negus (1 1/2), $3 each

Best Game Reserve Section goes to Zechariah Zhu, $15, for win over Andrew Negus

Total Prizes: $745 



No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.