Thursday, July 22, 2010

San Diego County Championships

San Diego County Championships

 July 24 & 25, 2010

45 players total this year, listed below in rating order  

Open Section: 15 players 

2 Masters: Bruce Baker, Romeo Ignacio

12 Experts: Varun Krishnan, Raoul Crisologo, Eric Kuniholm, Alan Tsoi, Peter Hodges, Alejandrino Baluran, Michael Nagaran, Leonard Sussman, Aaron Wooten, Ben Barquin, Daniel Grazian, Jason Qu; plus 1 Class A playing up: Madhavan Vajapeyam.

House players: Experts Antonio Gonzalez and Alan Sebeckis 

Reserve Section (U2000): 23 players 

12 Class A: Dennis Saccuzzo, Bob Defore, Jamieson Pryor, Carey Milton, Esteban Escobedo, Pejman Sagart, Tom Fries, Chris Wonnell, Reyes Lopez, Igor Royzen, Daniel Collins, Chuck Ensey

7 Class B: Joe Rieker, Carl Newell, Edgar Lopez, Tom Kuhn,  Kenneth Xu, James Mitchell, Anthony Harbone

House player: Class B player Brian Kelly

4 Class C playing up: Arsenio Caccam, Todd Arone, Michael Ferguson, Wilfredo Lapurga 

Booster Section (U1600): 7 players

3 Class C: Ildefonso Mamaradlo, Jerry Qu, Fred Cleveland

3 Class D: Darryl Woodson, Alonzo Sanchez

1 Class E: Tygan Zeng    and   1 unrated: Manuel Mojarro

house player: Class D player Irina Nizmutdinova 


Prize winners:

Open Section: 15

First Place: Peter Hodges (4), $300   

2nd Place/U2400: Jason Qu (3 1/2) and Romeo Ignacio (3 1/2), $135 each 

U2300/U2200: Ben Barquin (3) and Varun Krishnan (3), $120 each

U2100/2nd U2400: Aaron Wooten (2 1/2) and Daniel Grazian (2 1/2), $85 each

2nd U2300/2nd U2220/2nd U2100: Bruce Baker (2), Leonard Sussman (2), Alejandrino Baluran (2), Madhavan Vajapeyam (2) and Michael Nagaran (2), $30 each   

Reserve Section (U2000): 23 

First Place: Bob Defore (4), $180   2nd Place: Carey Milton (4), $90

U1900: Chris Wonnell (3 1/2), $120 

2nd U1900: Igor Royzen (3), Reyes Lopez (3), Daniel Collins (3), $17 each

U1800/1700: Edgar Lopez (2 1/2) and Kenneth Xu (2 1/2), $120 each

2nd U1800/1700: Carl Newell (2), Todd Arone (2), Arsenio Caccam (2), James Mitchell (2), Tom Kuhn (2), $20 each

Booster Section (U1600): 7

First Place: Fred Cleveland (4), $110

2nd Place: Jerry Qu (3 1/2) and Ildefonso Mamaradlo (3 1/2), $40 each

U1500: Alonzo Sanchez (3), $60

U1400: Darryl Woodson (1 1/2), $45

Total Prizes: $2,260

Best games still to be judged, stay tuned... 

Best Game Booster Section goes to Alonzo Sanchez, $15, for his win over Fred Cleveland in the last round. Up until then Fred had won 4 in row...

Best Game in the Open Section goes to new County Champion Peter Hodges, $15 for this win over Ben Barquin with 2 piece sacs!

1. e4 e6 2.d4 b6 3.Nc3 Bb7 4.Nf3 Bb4 5.Bd3 h6 6.0-0 Ba6 7.Ne5 Nf6 8.f4 Bb7 9.Nxf7 Kxf7 10.e5 Bxc3 11.bxc3 Ne4 12.f5 Rf8? 13.Qg4 d5 14.Bxh6! gxh6 15.Qg6+ Ke7 16.Qxe6#   

Best Game in the Reserve Section goes to Carey Milton, $15 for this win over Chuck Ensey:

1.d4 Nf6 2.c4 e6 3.g3 d5 4.Nd2 c5 5.dxc5 Bxc5 6.cxd5 Qxd5 7.Ngf3 0-0 8.Bg2 Bxf2+ 9.Kxf2 Ng4+ 10.Ke1 Ne3 11.Qb3 Qc5 12.Ne4 Nxg2+ 13.Kf1 Qf5 14.Nd6 (Nc2 was better) Qh3 15.Kf2 Bd7 16.Rg1 Bc6 17.Rxg2 Nd7 18.Be3 Ne5 19.Rh1 Bd5 20.Qc3 Ng4+ 21.Kg1 Rfd8 22.Bc5 b6 23.Ba3 Rac8 24.Qxc8 (if Nxc8 Bxf3 25.Qxf3 Rd1+ 26.Qf1 Rxf1+ 27.Kxf1 Ne3+) Rxc8 25.Nxc8 Qh6! (I thought I had a few moves to re-organize my pieces, but I overlooked this move which crushes) 26.b3 Qe3+ 27.Kf1 Bxf3 28.Rhg1 Qd4 0-1   


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.