Sunday, January 6, 2008

'07 Shootout Rd 4

San Diego Shootout Round 4  9/12/07     

62 players entered so far plus several house players standing by (Pummer, Wetterer). 

Slow Section (The Tortoises)   40/90, SD/60

Upper: "Slow and steady wins the race" (22 players) 

Players with upset wins (by rating) in bold


The Longest Game of the Night, Bruce won this very close game on Board 1 

Bd 1  Todd Smith - Bruce Baker  0-1

Bd 2  John Funderburg - Alejandro Garamendi  1-0

Bd 3  Manuel Herrera - George Zeigler  0-1

Bd 4  Fausto Robles - Raoul Crisologo  0-1

Bd 5  Brad Salz - Eric Montany  0-1 

Bd 6  Lennart Mathe - David Hart  0-1

Bd 7  Mario Amodeo - Tom Fries  0-1

Bd 8  Shaun Sweitzer - Ron Soto  1/2-1/2

Bd 9  Alfredo DeLeon - Bob Defore  1-0

Bd 10  Santiago Rubio-Fernaz - Jamieson Pryor  0-1

Bd 11  Vincent Broman - Theron Pummer  0-1

Fast Section (The Hares)  G/90  

Upper: "The Fast and the Furious" (24 players)  


               Dimitry Kishinevsky                               Hercules Madriaga 

Bd 13  Hercules Madriaga - Dimitry Kishinevsky  1/2-1/2


James won this game against the Balladeer, who usually comes equipped with a braggadocious T-shirt   

Bd 14  James Mahooti - Ed Baluran  1-0 

Bd 15  Buddy Morris - William Wijaya  1-0

Bd 16  Richard Jensen - Chris Borgan  0-1

Bd 17  Ron Rezendes - Dayne Freitag  1/2-1/2

Bd 18  Marty Lower - Damani Fair  1/2-1/2


The youngest player versus the oldest on Board 19 - and it's a draw this time...

Bd 19  Jason Qu - Fred Borges 1/2-1/2

Bd 20  Erik Lotfi - Joel Batchelor  0-1

Bd 21  Pejman Sagart - Erik Marquis  1-0

Bd 22  Jerry Soelberg - Khris Juroshek  1-0

Bd 23  Chuck Ensey - Caley Anderson  1-0

Bd 24  Julian Rodriguez  1 point bye, no house player available

Lower (U1700): "The Quick and the Dead" (16 players)

Note: these pairings reflect the merger of the two lower sections: 6 slow players (Harbone, Samuel, Baglaizo, Perry, Ness and Carlos Herrera) have been added to the fast side.

Bd 26  Manuel San German - Anthony Harbone  1-0


Looks like Bob is in trouble on Board 27 as Ryan has a passer on the 7th rank 

Bd 27  Robert Samuel - Ryan Nichols  0-1

Bd 28  Michael Ryan - Tom Kuhn  0-1

Bd 29  Steven Perry - Mark Lawless  0-1

Bd 30  Anthony Arciga - Carlos Herrera  1-0

Bd 31 Patrick Edwards - Morgan Fox  0-1

Bd 32  Karen Kaufman - Ralph White  1-0 

See pairings page for expected pairings for next week

Schedule: This is a 6-round event with rounds at 7 PM each Wednesday night for 6 weeks on 8/22, 8/29, 9/05, 9/12, 9/19 and 9/26. You may take two half-point byes. To get a 1/2 point bye, you can email me, Chuck Ensey, at before 4:00 PM, or call the club (619-239-7166) before 6:30 PM on the night of the round (at the latest, preferably well before that).  No last round byes (but  of course you can withdraw, just let us know!). If you are a no-show for any round, you won't be paired for the next round. Repeat offenders will be fined $5.

Also note that the winners of the two Upper Sections will meet in a $200 match ($150 to the winner, $50 to the loser) to see which one will get a free berth into the 2008 San Diego Club Championship (the winner of the match won't have to qualify through the Markowski Open). Two players have already been seeded into the Club Championship: the 2007 Club Champion John Funderburg and the San Diego County Champion Leonard Sussman. This event, The San Diego Shootout, will determine one more player and then the last chance will be near the end of the year at "The Masters" (top section of the Class Championships

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.