Sunday, July 28, 2013

Gambito #619

Gambito #619  on 7/27/13

31 players, continuing our summer run of great turnouts with over 30 players. We played our usual 3 point McMahon system with M/E =3, A=2, B=1, C/D=0. Here are the players in pre-event rating order:
3 Masters: Cyrus Lakdawala, Bruce Baker and Peter Graves
5 Experts: Nikolay Arutyunov, Venkat Iyer, Ben Barquin, Elkaei Rivera and Jeff Turner
12 Class A: Alex Costello, Buddy Morris, Michael Taylor, Chris Wonnell, Sridhar Ramanujam, Richard Skinnell, Chuck Ensey, Ramil Macaspac, Jay Choi, Gurveer Singh, Luis Uribe and Jerry Qu.
5 Class B: Datris Robinson, Anthony Harbone, Justin Kang, Ben Duong and Jesse Wang
3 Class C: David Narevsky, David Palmer and Matthew Wang
3 Class D: Tygan Zeng, Sabrina Duong and Joshua Chung

John Donahoo (Class B, 2 games) and Jim Harrell (Class D, 2 games) filled in as house players to even out the odd number of players.  Note that this event is already rated!! Cyrus only gained 3 points, apparently the new K factor the USCF is using for high rated players is making it harder for him to gain (or lose) points. I think the factor is increased for lower rated players though, for instance David Narevsky gained 87 points (to 1608), Tygan Zeng 69 points (to 1465), Sabrina Duong 66 points (to 1457), Jesse Wang 61 points (to 1661) and Jerry Qu 58 points (to 1868).

Here are the prize winners:

First Place: Cyrus Lakdawala (7), $100
Second Place: Jeff Turner (6), $75
BU2400: Bruce Baker (5 1/2) and Peter Graves (5 1/2), $37
BU2200: Venkat Iyer (5) and Nikolay Arutyunov (5), $37
BU2000/2nd U2000: Michael Taylor (5) and Richard Skinnell (5), $52 each
BU1800: Jesse Wang (3 1/2), $60
BU1600: David Narevsky (3 1/2), $60
BU1400: Tygan Zeng (3), $10

Total Prizes: $560

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.