Monday, August 20, 2012

August Gambito Opens

Gambito #576  8/25/12 

Last Gambito Open before the So Cal Open on the following weekend.

24 players, in pre-event rating order:

5 Masters: Cyrus Lakdawala, Kyron Griffith, Varun Krishnan, Bruce Baker and Peter Graves

7 Experts: Nikolay Arutyunov, Paul Agron, Venkat Iyer, Aaron Wooten, Leonard Sussman, Bud Stamper and Paul Choate

6 Class A: Chris Wonnell, Buddy Morris, Jason Arbeiter, Pejman Sagart, Chuck Ensey and Jay Choi

3 Class B: Jerry Qu, Ajay Krishnan and Anthony Harbone  

3 Class C and below: Thomas Diem, Fred Cleveland and Patrick Edwards   

We played in two sections, U2000 (Reserve) and over 2000 (Open).

Prize Winners:

First/Second Place: Cyrus Lakdawala (3 1/2) and Varun Krishnan (3 1/2), $80 each

BU2400: Kyron Griffith (2 1/2) and Peter Graves (2 1/2), $30 each 

BU2200: Nikolay Arutyunov (2), Paul Choate (2) and Paul Agron (2), $20 each  

Reserve Section:

BU2000: Buddy Morris (3 1/2), $60

BU1800: Thomas Diem (2 1/2), $50

BU 1600: Patrick Edwards (1), $40

Total Prizes: $430 

Gambito #575

29 players, here they are in pre-event rating order:

5 Masters: Cyrus Lakdawala, Kyron Griffith, Bruce Baker, Peter Graves and Nikolay Arutyunov

8 Experts: Shirin Navabi, Aaron Wooten, Venkat Iyer, Jeff Turner, Tim McGuiness, Leonard Sussman, Ben Barquin and Elkaei Rivera

8 Class A: Jason Ma, Santi Pinon, Kenneth Xu, Buddy Morris, Sridhar Ramanujam, Pejman Sagart, Alexander Blank and Chuck Ensey

3 Class B: Jesse Wang, David Narevsky and Anthony Harbone (John Donahoo and Blake Borskey filled in as house players for 2 games each) 

5 Class C or less: Bryan Tangtartharakul, Fred Cleveland, Matthew Wang, Cassidy Liu and Patrick Edwards.

We used a 2 point McMahon Pairing system, where M/E=2, A=1, B/C=0

Here were the prize winners:

Congrats to Venkat, he drew with Cyrus and defeated Shirin Navabi, Aaron Wooten and Peter Graves in that order. Cyrus also drew with Peter Graves and with Kyron, which dropped his rating U2500. Just a month or so ago he was pushing to break 2600, but he has been in a small slump lately.     

First Place: Venkat Iyer (5 1/2), $100

2nd Place (6 way tie!): Cyrus Lakdawala (4 1/2), $35

BU2400: Peter Graves (4 1/2), Kyron Griffith (4 1/2), $35 each

BU2200: Jeff Turner (4 1/2), Aaron Wooten (4 1/2) and Leonard Sussman (4 1/2), $35 each

BU2000: Kenneth Xu (3 1/2), $75

BU1800: Jesse Wang (2 1/2), $57  BU1600: Matthew Wang (2 1/2), $57

BU1400: Cassidy Liu (2), $20

Total Prizes: $520  


Gambito #574

28 players, report delayed until tomorrow... 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.