Sunday, July 29, 2012

San Diego County Championships 8/04-8/05/12

San Diego County Championships  8/04/12 - 8/05/12 at the

San Diego Chess Club, 2225 Sixth Avenue San Diego CA 92101 

$3,500 Prize Fund 

3 Sections: Open, U2000 and U1600, Time control: Game in 100 minutes, with 5 second delay per move; same for all rounds. SCCF membership required ($18 adult, $10 junior). This is the state organization (Southern California Chess Federation) that publishes Rank and File magazine with great articles by Cyrus Lakdawala, Jack Peters and others.   

Here are the players in rating order:  Thanks to everyone for joining this annual event! 

Open Section (19 players):

6 Masters: IM Dionisio Aldama, Ronald Bruno, Varun Krishnan, Martin Nilsson, Bruce Baker, Peter Graves

10 Experts: Nikolay Arutyunov, Alaa-Addin Moussa, Raoul Crisologo, Peter Hodges, Jim Humphrey, Leonard Sussman, Jeff Turner, Ben Barquin, Bud Stamper and Michael Nagaran.

3 Class players playing up: Luke Cheng, Phil Roth and Victor Delgadillo  

Premier (U2000) Section (22 players):

11 Class A: Chris Wonnell, Kenneth Xu, Edgar Lopez, William Wijaya, Santi Pinon, Zechariah Zhu, John Badger, Daniel Collins, Chuck Ensey, Albert Dumaran and Jay Choi 

11 Class B: Harold May, Eliza Eggert, Steve Perry, Ajay Krishnan, Daniel Shevelev, Todd Arone, Bart Lancaster, Fawsi Jose Murra, Daniel Zhu, Anthony Harbone and Gregory Ingolia

Reserve (U1600) Section (16 players):

6 Class C: Jesse Wang, Alex Costello, Salvador Rangel, Andrew Liu, Fred Cleveland, and Stephen Zhu    

5 Class D: Richard Hatch, Joe Sanna, David Kim, Matthew Wang and Cassidy Liu

5 Class E: Mike Smith, Daniel Sun, Patrick Edwards, Kevin Yang and Roger Pedersen 


Prize Winners:

Open Section:

First Place: Dioniso Aldama (4), $500

Second Place/U2400/U2300/2nd U2400: Varun Krishnan (3 1/2), Ronald Bruno (3 1/2), Martin Nilsson (3 1/2) and Bruce Baker (3 1/2), $175 each

2nd U2300: Peter Graves (3), $50

BU2200/2ndU2200: Alaa-Addin Moussa (3) and Jim Humphrey (3), $125 each

BU2100: Ben Barquin (2 1/2), $200

2nd U2100: Michael Nagaran (2), Jeff Turner (2), Bud Stamper (2) and Phillip Roth (2), $12 each

Premier Section:

First Place: Santi Pinon (4 1/2), $300

BU1900: Harold May (3 1/2), $200

Second Place/2nd U1900: Albert Dumaran (3), Kenneth Xu (3), Jay Choi (3), Daniel Collins (3), Zechariah Zhu (3) and Edgar Lopez (3), $33 each

BU1800/2ndU1800: Eliza Eggert (3), Ajay Krishnan (3) and Daniel Shevelev (3), $83 each

BU1700/2ndU1700: Daniel Zhu (2 1/2) and Gregory Ingolia (2 1/2), $125 each 

Reserve Section:

First Place: Alex Costello (4 1/2), $180

BU1500: Andrew Liu (4), $100

2nd Place: Stephen Zhu (3 1/2), $75

BU1400: Kevin Yang (3 1/2), $75

2nd U1500: David Kim (3), $50

2nd U1400: Cassidy Liu (2 1/2) and Matthew Wang (2 1/2), $12 each

Best games will be announced after careful study...





No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.