Saturday, July 28, 2012

Gambito #573

Gambito Open #573  7/28/12  

33 players, pretty good turnout. We used a 5 point McMahon pairing system, here are the players in pre-event rating order:  

4 Masters: IM Dionisio Aldama, IM Cyrus Lakdawala, Kyron Griffith and Peter Graves

9 Experts: Nikolay Arutyunov, Peter Hodges, Aaron Wooten, Alan Sebeckis, Tim McGuiness, Leonard Sussman, Bud Stamper, Jeff Turner and Elkaei Rivera

7 Class A: Jason Ma, Buddy Morris, Kenneth Xu, Sridhar Ramanujam, Pejman Sagart, Chuck Ensey and Gregory Ingolia

6 Class B: Ajay Krishnan, Eric Carmichael, Marco Gonzalez, Caleb Guy, Todd Arone and Anthony Harbone

4 Class C: Jesse Wang, Bryan Tangtartharakul, Fred Cleveland and Andrew Slaughter

3 Class D: Matthew Wang, Mike Smith and Adam Schiferl

And here were the Prize winners:

Cyrus drew with Dionisio in Rd 2 and with Jeff Turner in Rd 4. Elkaei beat Experts Alan Sebeckis and Peter Hodges in the last 2 rounds to win clear 1st U2200. New player Gregory Ingolia proved that he was worthy of the Class A rating we assigned to him (he has 3 wins in the curent Wednesday night tournament and a really old 1267 rating from many years ago).    

First Place: Dionisio Aldama (8 1/2), $125   Second Place: Cyrus Lakdawala (8), $75

BU2400: Kyron Griffith (7), $75    BU2200: Elkaei Rivera (7), $75

2nd U2400/2ndU2200: Jeff Turner (6 1/2) and Nikolay Arutyunov (6 1/2), $25 each

BU2000/2nd U2000: Gregory Ingolia (5 1/2), Jason Ma (5 1/2) and Buddy Morris (5 1/2), $32 each

BU1800: Marco Gonzalez (4 1/2), $75

BU1600: Jesse Wang (3 1/2) and Fred Cleveland (3 1/2), $25 each

BU1400: Matthew Wang (2 1/2), $10

Total Prizes: $630 


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.