Sunday, January 29, 2012

February Gambito Opens #552, #553 & #554

Gambito Open #554  2/25/12  

After a week off for the Recession Buster Open on 2/18-2/20, the Gambito resumed on 2/25 with the usual format, 4 rounds of G/40 with 5 second delay.

24 players vied for prizes, here they are in pre-event rating order:

3 Masters: Peter Graves, Bruce Baker and Kyron Griffith

4 Experts: Venkat Iyer, Leonard Sussman, Elkaei Rivera and Paul Choate

7 Class A: Antonio Gonzalez, Madhavan Vajapeyam, Ben Barquin, Buddy Morris, Pejman Sagart, Jay Choi and Jason Arbeiter 

6 Class B: Datris Robinson, Nestor Dagamat, Daniel Cook, Anthony Harbone, Eliza Eggert and Andrew Negus

4 Class C and below: Fred Cleveland, Mark Negus, Carl Dagamat (unr) and Ty Kirk (unr)

Bruce Baker directed and used a 2 point McMahon where M/Exp=2, A=1, B/C=0 

Prize winners of #554:

First Place: Kyron Griffith (5 1/2), $100    BU2400: Bruce Baker (5), $60

Second Place: Leonard Sussman (4 1/2), $60

BU2200: Antonio Gonzalez (4), $50

BU2000: Pejman Sagart (3 1/2) and Madhavan Vajapeyam (3 1/2), $30 each

BU1800: Andrew Negus (3), Nestor Dagamat (3) and Eliza Eggert (3), $17 each

BU1600: Fred Cleveland (1 1/2), $50  

Total Prizes: $430

Registration is from 10 AM to 10:25 AM, if you are late you will likely have to take a bye for the first round.  

Gambito Open  #553  2/11/12   

The Gambito Open is played practically every weekend. $20 entry fee, Next weekend is the exception, due to the Recession Buster Open on 2/18-2/20, so there will be no Gambito Open on 2/18, but Gambito #554 will be played on 2/25/12.   

Today there were 28 players and we used a 2 point McMahon with M/Exp=2, A=1, B/C=0. Here are the players in rating order:

4 Masters: Cyrus Lakdawala, Peter Graves, Bruce Baker and Kyron Griffith

4 Experts: Raoul Crisologo, Jamieson Pryor, Leonard Sussman and Elkaei Rivera

8 Class A: Ben Barquin, Sridhar Ramanujam, Bud Stamper, Aaron Householder, Chuck Ensey, Pejman Sagart, Jason Arbeiter and Jay Choi.

7 Class B: Hector Gonzalez, Scott Householder, Albert Dumaran, Eliza Eggert, Tom Kuhn, Anthony Harbone and Jared Weiss.

3 Class C: Kenneth Carter, David Whitten and Fred Cleveland

2 Class D: Alex Householder and Patrick Edwards

Here are the Prize winners:

First Place: Cyrus Lakdawala (6), $100 

Second Place: Bruce Baker (5), $70   

BU2400: Raoul Crisologo (4 1/2), $70   

BU2200: Elkaei Rivera (4), $70   

BU2000: Ben Barquin (3 1/2), Pejman Sagart (3 1/2), Bud Stamper (3 1/2) and Aaron Householder (3 1/2), $17 each

BU1800: Albert Dumaran (3), $70   

BU1600: Kenneth Carter (2), $70  

Total Prizes: $500

Gambito # 552   February Super Gambito Chess  2/04/12

38 players, great turnout.  Very strong Open Section with 7 Masters! 

Open Section (22 players): 

7 Masters: Cyrus Lakdawala, Ron Bruno, Peter Graves, Varun Krishnan, Bruce Baker, Kyron Griffith and Romeo Ignacio

6 Experts: Alan Tsoi, Venkat Iyer, Raoul Crisologo, Leonard Sussman, Madhavan Vajapeyam and Esteban Escobedo

9 Class A: Elkaei Rivera, Ben Barquin, Bud Stamper, Aaron Householder, Pejman Sagart, Jerry Qu, Jay Choi, Chuck Ensey and Datris Robinson

Reserve Section (16 players):

5 Class B: Scott Householder, Anthony Harbone, Ajay Krishnan, Sam Barboo and Jerry Kavanau  

4 Class C: Jared Weiss, Carlos Lopez-Tenorio, Fred Cleveland and Daniel Zhu

7 Class D: Thomas Diem, Alex Householder, Stephen Zhu, Patrick Edwards, Cassidy Liu, Joshua Chung and Carol Paden

Here are the Prize winners:

Open Section (22 players): 

First Place: Ron Bruno (4), $125

Second Place/BU2400/2nd U2400: Varun Krishnan (3), Bruce Baker (3), Romeo Ignacio (3) and Peter Graves (3), $50 each

BU2200: Raoul Crisologo (3), $75          2nd U2200: Alan Tsoi (2 1/2), $25

BU2000: Ben Barquin (2), Chuck Ensey (2) and Aaron Householder (2), $40 each

Best Game Prize (one of Cy's books) goes to Ron Bruno for win over Esteban Escobedo.

Reserve Section (16 players):

First Place: Ajay Krishnan (4), $75

Second Place: Jerry Kavanau (3), $25

BU1600: Jared Weiss (3), $75

2nd U1600: Daniel Zhu (2 1/2) and Fred Cleveland (2 1/2), $12 each 

BU1400: Cassidy Liu (2), Joshua Chung (2) and Alex Householder (2), $33 each

Best Game (one of Cy's books) goes to Daniel Zhu for win over Carlos Lopez-Tenorio 

Total Prizes: $845 

4 Rounds of G/40 with 5 second delay; at 10:30 AM, 12:15, 2:45 and 4:30 PM, all over by 6 PM. Registration: from 10 AM to 10:25 AM, please call 619-239-7166 if you are running late, Rd 1 starts at 10:30 sharp, if you aren't registered by 10:25 you will have to take a bye for round 1. You are allowed one bye, but no last round byes, sorry. Entry fee: $25 

USCF membership required (we can sign  you up on the spot, $48 for 1 year). SCCF membership required ($18) for anyone winning over $18, and SDCC membership required ($60) for anyone winning over $100 over the last 12 months.  Any questions?: email Chuck at or call Bruce Baker at 619-239-7166. Club is located at 2225 Sixth Avenue between Ivy and Juniper on the edge of Balboa Park. Free parking usually available, but arrive early for closest spots.  


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.