Thursday, December 29, 2011

The Alina Markowski Open Rd 1

Club Championship Qualifier! 1/04/12  7 PM

Happy New Year! It is time to start the Club Championship cycle once again. That means the most popular tournament of the year is about to start...don't miss out! It is 7 rounds with only a $25 entry fee. Open to all players, and all will compete in 1 huge section so this is your chance to possibly play a Master even if you are an average Class B player. For the first few rounds you will be paired either way up or way down, but either way you can learn something new. Often there is at least one upset in the first round, or at least a few draws. Now is your chance to shine! 

Two byes are allowed, but last round byes must be requested before Round 2 and are irrevocable.  

Time Control is our standard 40/90, SD/60, d/5.

Registration is from 5:30 to 6:45, or pre-register online by emailing Chuck at or by calling 619-239-7166.

The 12 players with the highest score at the end of 7 rounds will qualify to join the Club Championship with Raoul Crisologo, Bruce Baker, John Funderburg and Jim Humphrey. Usually it takes 5 points to get into this select group and often there are a few fives with the worst tie breaks that don't make it in. (here's a tip - taking byes hurts your tie breaks, so try to avoid them if possible). Also the top 16 qualifiers under 1800 will play in the Reserve Championship. 

Cash Prizes for 1st, 2nd and 3rd in each rating class and maybe even 4th or 5th place, depending on the number of players. Often we have 90 or more! Here we go!


71 players so far, plus 2 house players. Here are the results from round 1. As predicted, there were a few upsets and a draw. Tom Kuhn drew with Expert Jim Humphrey, who decided to give up his place in the Club Championship and play in the Markowski . The two upsets were Anthony Harbone over Expert Robert Defore and Daniel Zhu over Class A William Wijaya. The rating differentials were about 500 points for most of the games. 

Board 1  Philip Skiba - Todd Smith  0-1

Bd 2  Carl Wagner - Blake Borskey  1-0

Bd 3  Damani Fair - David Hart  0-1

Bd 4  Peter Hodges - Zechariah Zhu  1-0    

Bd 5  Thomas Kuhn - Jim Humphrey  1/2-1/2

Bd 6  Leonard Sussman - Eliza Eggert  1-0

Bd 7  Sam Barboo - Mario Amodeo  0-1

Bd 8  Alejandrino Baluran - Mark Lawless  1-0

Bd 9  Jonathan Patricarca - Esteban Escobedo  0-1

Bd 10  Aaron Wooten - Steve Perry  1-0  The Longest Game of the Night

Bd 11  Anthony Harbone - Robert Defore  1-0  Big upset

Bd 12  Lennart Mathe - David Whitten  1-0

Bd 13  Aaron Moman - Ben Barquin  0-1

Bd 14  Jeff Turner - Jerry Kavanau  1-0

Bd 15  Rocio Murra - Brian Polka  0-1

Bd 16  Fawsi Murra Jr - Mark Allen  1-0

Bd 17  Steve Gordon - Buddy Morris  0-1

Bd 18  David Saponara - Morgan Fox  1-0

Bd 19  Daniel Zhu - William Wijaya  1-0  The other big upset

Bd 20  Robert Draper - Tom Lavoy  1-0

Bd 21  Louis Wonnell - Alfredo Deleon  0-1

Bd 22  Datris Robinson - Arnold Berlin  1-0

Bd 23  Keric Rivas - Guru Gopalakrishnan  1F-0F

Bd 24  Shaun Sweitzer - Tygan Zeng  1-0

Bd 25  Bill Murray - David Pino  0-1

Bd 26  Jerry Qu - Maria Murra  1-0

Bd 27  David Palmer - Pejman Sagart  0-1

Bd 28  Joel Batchelor - Patrick Edwards  1-0

Bd 29  Stephen Zhu - Chuck Ensey  0-1

Bd 30  Ron Rezendes - Ross Blum  1-0

Bd 31  Ronald Stanard - Bruce Charnov  0-1

Bd 32  Jim Krooskos - Eric Zhou  1-0

Bd 33  Keith Wetterer - Albert Dumaran  0-1

Bd 34  Fawsi Jose Murra - Roger Pedersen  1-0

Bd 35  Nicola Davies - Erik Marquis  0-1

Bye: Carl Newell, Darren Himeles and Andrew Liu




  1. Pictures from Round 1 of The Markowski Open are posted:

    For those who have facebook account, please view album on San Diego Chess Club page to leave comments etc:

    For those who don't have facebook account view it from here:


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.