Friday, August 5, 2011

San Diego County Championships

San Diego County Championships 8/6-8/7/11           

72 players total, players in pre-event rating order: 


Open (27 players):

6 Masters: Dionisio Aldama, Bruce Baker, Peter Graves, Martin Nilsson, Varun Krishnan and Romeo Ignacio

15 Experts: Al Flore, Peter Hodges, Raoul Crisologo, Leonard Sussman, Shirin Navabi, Dennis Keetman, Ben Barquin, Rick Aeria, Paul Agron, Jesse Orlowski, Enrico Balmaceda, Jamieson Pryor, Buddy Morris, Jim Humphrey and John Wright.

6 Class A (playing up): Roberto Aiello, Craig Hilby, Madhavan Vajapeyam, Maaike Keetman, Dennis Succuzzo and Esteban Escobedo.


Reserve (26 players):

9 Class A: Vincent Nguyen, Karl Tolentino, Kenneth Xu, Kendrick Nguyen, Jason Ma, Chuck Ensey, William Wijaya, Daniel Collins and John Anderson.

15 Class B: Jerry Qu, Albert Dumaran, Rolando Ignacio, Tom Kuhn, Bart Lancaster, Alex Wang, Eliza Eggert, Sam Barboo, Daniel Shevelev, Arsenio Caccam, Andrew Negus, Hongyu Chen, Todd Arone, Michael Lu and Anthony Harbone  

2 Class C playing up: Manny Abundo and Ajay Krishnan


Booster (19 players):

6 Class C: Robert Henderson, Mark Allen, Zechariah Zhu, Fred Cleveland, Glenn Rich and David Peabody

7 Class D: Claire Negus, Sharon Lu, Jesse Wang, Daniel Zhu, Thomas Diem, Mark Negus and Rachel Hong

6 Class E: Matthew Wang, Roger Pedersen, Andrew Liu, Jerry Liu (unr), Octovio Rodriguez (unr) and Sheila Rodriguez (unr). Vish Krishnan is filling in as a house player    


Prize Winners:

Open Section

First Place: Dionisio Aldama (5), $500

2nd Place/BU2400/BU2300: Bruce Baker (3 1/2), Peter Graves (3 1/2), and Shirin Navabi (3 1/2), $217 each

2nd U2400/2nd2300: Romeo Ignacio (3) and Martin Nilsson (3), $50 each

BU2200/2ndU2200: Peter Hodges (3) and Leonard Sussman (3), $125 each

BU2100/2ndU2100: Jamieson Pryor (3) and Paul Agron (3), $125 each 


Reserve Section

First Place: Vincent Nguyen (4 1/2), $300

BU1900: William Wijaya (4), $200

Second Place: Karl Tolentino (3 1/2), $150

BU1800: Alex Wang (3 1/2), $200

2nd U1900: Jason Ma (3), Daniel Collins (3) and Chuck Ensey (3), $17 each

2nd U1800: Jerry Qu (3), $50

U1700/2ndU1700: Todd Arone (3) and Daniel Shevelev (3), $125 each


Booster Section

Best Unrated: Sheila Rodriguez (4 1/2), book prize

First Place: Glenn Rich (4), $180

Second Place: Mark Allen (3 1/2), $75

BU1500: Sharon Lu (3 1/2), $100

BU1400: Claire Negus (3), $75

2nd U1500/2nd U1400: Zechariah Zhu (2 1/2), Daniel Zhu (2 1/2) and Jesse Wang (2 1/2), $25 


Best Games Reserves, $15, goes to Todd Arone for win over Jerry Qu 


Open Section Best Game, $15, goes to Peter Hodges for win over Raoul Crisologo 


Total Prizes: $3,500



No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.