Friday, August 19, 2011

Anthony Harbone Precision Shootout Rd 1

Anthony Harbone Precision Shootout

Round 1 of 6 Wednesday 8/24/11  7 PM

We honor one of our friendliest and most experienced club members, Anthony Harbone. One thing I have noticed about his game is that he loves to sacrifice material for the initiative and he hates to trade Queens. He's a real fighter and has given me many tough contests over the years. Please congratulate "Tony" when you see him and let him know how much the club admires him.     

This tournament will be in 4 sections, 2 Fast and 2 Slow. Instead of Swiss pairings, we will use SDCC custom made Precision Pairings. In this system, you are paired, if possible, with a player who has the same number of points as you, but instead of the top half versus bottom half pairings as used in the Swiss system, you are paired with the person who is closest to you in rating. We tried this for the first time last year and it worked pretty well.

The Gunslinger Open Section will be at our normal slow time control of 40/90, SD/60 with 5 second delay per move. This will be mostly Masters and Experts, maybe a few Class A players playing up. Also this section will serve as a Qualifier for next year's Club Championship.  

Bd 1   Carl Wagner - Bruce Baker 0-1

Bd 2   Peter Hodges - John Fundeburg  1/2-1/2

Bd 3  George Zeigler - Raoul Crisologo  0-1

Bd 4  Tim McGuiness - Paul Agron  0-1

Bd 5  Buddy Morris - Lennart Mathe  1-0

Bd 6  Aaron Wooten - Jeff Turner  0-1

Bd 7  Fawsi Murra Jr - David Saponara  1-0

Bd 8  Joel Batchelor - Alejandrino Baluran  0-1

Bye: Jim Humphrey, Bill Whitney 

The Sniper Reserve Section (U1800) is also at the 5 hour (Slow) time control of 40/90, SD/60.

Bd 10  Hector Gonzalez - Guru Gopalakrishnan  1/2-1/2

Bd 11  Bruce Charnov - Fawsi Jose Murra  1-0

Bd 12  Steve Perry - Damani Fair  0-1

Bd 13  Sam Barboo - Anthony Harbone  1-0

Bd 14  Carl Newell - Chris Wonnell  0-1 


The other two sections will be at the Quick Draw fast rate of G/90:

The Sharpshooter Section (U2000), G/90

Bd 18  Bob Defore - William Wijaya  1-0

Bd 19  Ron Rezendes - David Delgadillo  1/2-1/2

Bd 20  Pejman Sagart - Shaun Sweitzer  1-0

Bd 21  Edgar Lopez - Fred Deleon  1-0

Bd 22  Chuck Ensey - Jerry Qu  1/2-1/2

Bd 23  David Pino - Leonardo Villaverde  1/2-1/2

Bd 24  Tom Kuhn - Erik Marquis  0-1

Bye: Darren Himeles  

The Bounty Hunter Section (U1600), G/90

Bd 26  Morgan Fox - Rocio Murra  1-0

Bd 27  Zechariah Zhu - Mark Lawless  1/2-1/2

Bd 28  Louis Wonnell - John Huey 0-1

Bd 29   Mayra Murra - Daniel Sun  1-0

Bd 30  Irina Nizmutdinova - Arnold Berlin  1/2-1/2

Bd 31  Brian Sun - Maria Murra  0-1

Bd 32  David Palmer - Patrick Edwards  1-0

Bd 33  Daniel Zhu - Tygan Zeng  1-0

Bd 34  Stanford Talcott - Bill Murray  1-0

Bd 35  Ron Stanard - Ross Blum  1-0

Bd 36  Dustin Movius - Brandon Lopez  0-1

Bd 37  Roger Pedersen - Steven Zhu  0-1

Bd 38  Joshua Chung - Keith Wetterer  1-0

Bye: Monica McGuiness, Yury Kolesnikov, Darryl Woodson


The Tenderfoot Section (U1200) was combined with the Bounty Hunter Section.

You can join in with a first round bye by emailing Chuck at

Entry Fee is $25, 6 rounds, two byes available...  




  1. I can't seem to edit this page tonight, sorrry, some weird computer glitch

  2. How about copying, deleting blog, create new blog and paste?

  3. I tried that, no luck. I will just wait until tomorrow and see what happens...


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.