Thursday, November 12, 2009

Super Double Gambito Nov 14-15th

9th Annual Super Double Gambito Open    November 14th - 15th, 2009

8 rounds of G/40 with 5 second delay over two days, Saturday and Sunday.

Rds 10:30 AM, 12:15, 2:45 and 4:30 PM each day. Lunch Break 1:45 to 2:45 PM

2 byes available in first 6 rounds only, no byes in the last two rounds.     

$2,000 in guaranteed prizes    2 Sections, Open and Reserve (U1800)

Unrated players eligible for book prize only. Most up to date unofficial USCF website ratings will be used. $5 fine for cell phone violations and for noisy or rude behavior. Respect your fellow chessplayers, no analysis in playing hall, post-mortems must be conducted in the skittles room.     

Previous Champions:

2001: Cyrus Lakdawala    2002: Bruce Baker    

2003: Cyrus Lakdawala    2004: Dimitry Kishinevsky

2005: Joel Banawa            2006: Enrico Sevillano

2007: Enrico Sevillano      2008: Ron Bruno & Show Kitagami

2009: Raoul Crisologo   

Last year was the first time there was a tie for First Place. With 8 rounds you would think that would be enough to get a clear first place, but not last year. But it was nice to get two new names to add to the list. Who will it be this year? A new name like Peter Graves? Avram Zaydenburg? Romeo Ignacio? Jorge Balares? John Funderburg? Eric Montany? Any of these could easily win. Or maybe one of the fast rising young players like Kyron Griffith, Alan Tsoi, Jesse Orlowski, Jason Qu or Varun Krishnan. Or maybe an "old" guy like Ed Baluran, Carey Milton, Raoul Crisologo or Leonard Sussman. We'll have to wait and see, but I am really looking forward to this one...    

But it's not all about first place, there are plenty of prizes for every rating class. We view this event as the Gambito Open Championship for the year, so bragging rights come with winning first place in your rating class.  


Open Section (16 players): Roberto Aiello (1972), Nikolay Arutyunov (1974), Bruce Baker (2280), Alejandrino Baluran (2044), Ben Barquin (2007), Raoul Crisologo (2062), David Delgadillo (1846), Chuck Ensey (1844), Aaron Householder (1807), Jamieson Pryor (1972), Eric Smith (1966), Phil Roth (1966), Alan Tsoi (2102), Mahhavan Vajapeyam (1932), Chris Wonnell (1910), Avram Zaydenberg (2209)    

Reserve Section (16 players): Ray Aquitania (1073), Gene Arnaiz (1503), Fred Cleveland (1387), Nestor Dagamat (1795), Abhijeet Gijare (1772), Anthony Harbone (1616), Scott Householder (1595), Tom Kuhn (1668), Edgar Lopez (932), Reyes Lopez (unr), Mayra Murra (1671), Rocio Murra (1592), Keric Rivas (1108), Ronaldo Salenga (1731), James Sturtevant (1510)   

32 Players Total

Open Section

First Place: Raoul Crisologo (6 1/2), $300       2nd Place: Avram Zaydenberg (5 1/2), $200

BU2200: Ben Barquin (5), $200                     BU2000: Nikolay Arutyunov (5), $200

3rd Place: Alan Tsoi (4 1/2), $100                 2nd U2200: Erik Smith (4), $100

3rd U2200: Alejandrino Baluran (3 1/2), $50    2nd U2000: Chris Wonnell (3 1/2), $100

3rd U2000: David Delgadillo (3), Aaron Householder (3) and Phillip Roth (3), $17 each

Reserve Section

First Place: Reyes Lopez (6), book prize (unrated) and Ronaldo Salenga (6), $200

2nd Place: Abhijeet Gijare (5 1/2), $100

3rd Place: Mayra Murra (5) and Nestor Dagamat (5), $25 each

BU1600: James Sturtevant (4), Rocio Murra (4), Michael Ferguson (4) and Scott Householder (4), $62 each

BU1400: Fred Cleveland (4), $50

2nd U1400: Ray Aquitania (2) and Egdar Lopez (2), $10 each

Best Game Prize Open Section, $15, Aaron Householder for win over Eric Smith 

1.e4 e6 2.d4 d5 3.Nc3 c6 4.Nf3 b6 5.Be2 Nf6 6.Bg5 h6 7.Bh4 g5 8.Bg3 dxe4 9.Ne5 h5 10.h4 g4 11.0-0 Be7 12.Re1 Bb7 13.Bc4 b5 14.Bb3 Na6 15.Nxe4 Nxe4 16.Rxe4 Rf8 17.Rf4 Bxh4? 18.Bxe6! Bxg3 (if fxe6 19.Bxh4 and if Qxh4 20. Rxf8+ Kxf8 21. Ng6+) 19.Bxf7+ Ke7? (Rxf7) 20. Nxc6+! Bxc6 21.Qe2+ Kd6?? (Kd7) 22.Qe5+ Kd7 23.Be6+ Ke7 24.Bf5+ Kf7 25.Qe6+ mate in two, black resigns (Kg7 26.Qg6+ Kh8 27.Qh7#) 1-0      

Best Game Prize Reserve Section, $15, Nestor Dagamat for win over Scott Householder

1.e4 c5 2.Nf3 d6 3.Bc4 e6 4.c3 d5 5.exd5 exd5 6.Bb5+ Bd7 7.Be2 Bd6 8.0-0 Nf6 9.d4 0-0 10.dxc5 Bxc5 11.Bg5 Bc6 12.Nbd2 Qd6 13.Nb3 Ne4 14.Nxc5 Qxc5 15.Be3 Qd6 16.Nd4 f5 17.f4 f4 18.fxe4 fxe3 19.Nf5 Qe5 20.Qd4 Qxd4?? 21.Ne7+ 1-0      



No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.